US Industry Hub

Coffee, Donut & Bakery Franchises

Coffee, donut and bakery franchises run from drive-thru-only kiosks to seated full-cafe models, and that format decision accounts for most build-out cost variation. Every number here is taken from the brand’s own Franchise Disclosure Document: Item 5 lists the franchise fee, Item 7 gives the investment range, and Item 20 reports the current unit count, rather than a sales deck.

What a coffee franchise actually costs
$157,795entry floor$516,512median$3,312,500top of range
11 of 11 brands publish an Item 7 range $249,575–$762,758 is the middle half 11 of 11 file Item 19 earnings

Each dot is one brand's minimum total investment (FDD Item 7). An entry-cost distribution only — not a promise of return.

11 Coffee & Bakery brands, ranked by entry cost
1Auntie Anne'sFPRPretzel / Snack QSR $157,795–$835,500 $35,500 7% 1,236+
2Wetzel's PretzelsFPRPretzel Bakery / QSR $188,500–$725,450 $40,000 7% 423+
3Biggby CoffeeFPRCoffee Shop / QSR $242,200–$610,000 $20,000 6% 461+
4CinnabonFPRBakery / QSR $256,950–$703,500 $35,500 Not disclosed in FDD 1,310+
5CrumblFPRCookie Bakery QSR $367,666–$1,404,333 $50,000 8% 1,101+
6Shipley Do-NutsFPRQSR / Donuts & Coffee $516,512–$855,147 $40,000 5% 381+
7Dunkin'FPRQSR / Donuts & Coffee $532,400–$1,832,500 $40,000 Not disclosed in FDD 8,744+
8Nothing Bundt CakesFPRBundt Cake Bakery $585,015–$1,101,001 $45,000 6% 771+
97 BrewFPRDrive-Thru Coffee QSR $940,500–$2,283,500 $35,000 Not disclosed in FDD 578+
10Tim HortonsFPRCoffee & QSR with Co-Branding $988,000–$3,312,500 $50,000 6% 669+
11Scooter's CoffeeFPRQuick-Service Coffee $1,163,650–$1,345,750 $40,000 6% 882+

Bar shows each brand's Item 7 range across the $157,795–$3,312,500 span of this category; the lighter block behind it is the middle half of the category (25th–75th percentile). Ranked by lowest entry cost.

Head-to-head inside this category
Brands in this industry that do NOT franchise

These are run only through corporate-owned or licensed outlets, so individuals cannot submit a franchise application.

Starbucks does not franchiseDutch Bros does not franchise
Related US industry hubs
ChickenBurgers & Drive-Thru
Straight answers
How much does a coffee franchise cost?

Across the 11 coffee & bakery brands FRANticc tracks in the US with a disclosed investment range, entry cost runs from $157,795 (Auntie Anne's) to $1,163,650 (Scooter's Coffee), per each brand's FDD Item 7.

Which is the cheapest coffee franchise?

Auntie Anne's has the lowest disclosed minimum investment on this page at $157,795 (FDD Item 7). That is a starting figure, not the total cost of getting to opening day — franchise fee, working capital and any real estate are on top where applicable.

How much do coffee & bakery franchise owners make?

Financial Performance Representations (FDD Item 19) are optional under FTC franchise rules, so not every brand publishes one. 11 of 11 brands on this page disclose earnings data in their current FDD; check the individual brand page for what each one discloses. FRANticc does not estimate or promise returns — only figures a brand has itself put in writing.

Can I get SBA financing for a coffee franchise?

Many brands in this category are listed on the SBA Franchise Directory, which is what SBA 7(a) lenders check first — but directory listing and loan approval are two different things, and approval also depends on the individual applicant's credit and collateral. Confirm current SBA status directly with the brand and with an SBA-approved lender; FRANticc does not verify per-brand SBA eligibility.

Every figure above is from the brand's current Franchise Disclosure Document (Items 5, 6, 7, 20) on file with FRANticc, US-scoped (country_code=US) — no India data mixed in.
If any figure is incorrect, write to [email protected]