US Industry Hub

Home Repair & Trades Franchises

Home-repair and skilled-trades franchises, including electricians, plumbers, painters and HVAC operators, pair a licensed trade with a franchisor’s name, dispatch system and local marketing. State licensing requirements for the trade sit alongside the franchise terms below, so check both before committing capital.

What a home service franchise actually costs
Five Star Painting$82,200 Budget Blinds$100,500 Aire Serv$113,808 Roto-Rooter$123,110 Ace Handyman Services$132,200 One Hour Heating & Air Conditioning$143,273 Benjamin Franklin Plumbing$143,273 Mr. Rooter$152,900 Mr. Electric$159,500 Mr. Handyman$161,900 CertaPro Painters$171,000
$82,200entry floor$143,273median$357,425top of range
11 of 11 brands publish an Item 7 range $118,459–$156,200 is the middle half 11 of 11 file Item 19 earnings

Each dot is one brand's minimum total investment (FDD Item 7). An entry-cost distribution only — not a promise of return.

11 Home Repair & Trades brands, ranked by entry cost
1Five Star PaintingFPRPainting / Residential Services $82,200–$194,600 $45,000 Not disclosed in FDD 245+
2Budget BlindsFPRWindow Coverings Installation $100,500–$211,250 $19,950 3.5% 1,355+
3Aire ServFPRHVAC Installation & Repair $113,808–$271,708 $45,000 7% 229+
4Roto-RooterFPRDrain and Sewer Cleaning $123,110–$281,550 $25,000 Not disclosed in FDD 333+
5Ace Handyman ServicesFPRHandyman & Repair Services $132,200–$226,000 $70,000 6% 383+
6One Hour Heating & Air ConditioningFPRHVAC Services / Home Services $143,273–$286,702 $43,000 6% 418+
7Benjamin Franklin PlumbingFPRPlumbing Services $143,273–$286,702 $43,000 6% 399+
8Mr. RooterFPRPlumbing and Drain Services $152,900–$298,675 $42,500 6% 238+
9Mr. ElectricFPRElectrical Services & Repairs $159,500–$357,425 $42,500 6% 236+
10Mr. HandymanFPRHome Maintenance & Repair $161,900–$215,000 $67,000 7% 357+
11CertaPro PaintersFPRResidential Painting Services $171,000–$246,000 $65,000 6% 299+

Bar shows each brand's Item 7 range across the $82,200–$357,425 span of this category; the lighter block behind it is the middle half of the category (25th–75th percentile). Ranked by lowest entry cost.

Related US industry hubs
Real Estate & InsuranceChicken
Straight answers
How much does a home service franchise cost?

Across the 11 home repair & trades brands FRANticc tracks in the US with a disclosed investment range, entry cost runs from $82,200 (Five Star Painting) to $171,000 (CertaPro Painters), per each brand's FDD Item 7.

Which is the cheapest home service franchise?

Five Star Painting has the lowest disclosed minimum investment on this page at $82,200 (FDD Item 7). That is a starting figure, not the total cost of getting to opening day — franchise fee, working capital and any real estate are on top where applicable.

How much do home repair & trades franchise owners make?

Financial Performance Representations (FDD Item 19) are optional under FTC franchise rules, so not every brand publishes one. 11 of 11 brands on this page disclose earnings data in their current FDD; check the individual brand page for what each one discloses. FRANticc does not estimate or promise returns — only figures a brand has itself put in writing.

Can I get SBA financing for a home service franchise?

Many brands in this category are listed on the SBA Franchise Directory, which is what SBA 7(a) lenders check first — but directory listing and loan approval are two different things, and approval also depends on the individual applicant's credit and collateral. Confirm current SBA status directly with the brand and with an SBA-approved lender; FRANticc does not verify per-brand SBA eligibility.

Every figure above is from the brand's current Franchise Disclosure Document (Items 5, 6, 7, 20) on file with FRANticc, US-scoped (country_code=US) — no India data mixed in.
If any figure is incorrect, write to [email protected]