US Industry Hub

Gym & Fitness Studio Franchises

Fitness franchises range from staffed 24-hour big-box gyms to smaller boutique studios, and the required investment changes substantially by format. Every figure on this page is taken straight from the brand’s Franchise Disclosure Document: Item 5 states the franchise fee, Item 7 sets out the investment range, and Item 20 records the number of locations currently open. Review the numbers before listening to the sales pitch.

What a gym franchise actually costs
StretchLab$271,037 HOTWORX$288,890 F45 Training$362,300 Club Pilates$403,289 Pure Barre$445,299 Anytime Fitness$539,329 Snap Fitness$554,731 Orangetheory$764,577 Planet Fitness$1,282,500 Crunch Fitness$2,147,500
$271,037entry floor$492,314median$5,386,000top of range
10 of 10 brands publish an Item 7 range $372,547–$712,116 is the middle half 10 of 10 file Item 19 earnings

Each dot is one brand's minimum total investment (FDD Item 7). An entry-cost distribution only — not a promise of return.

10 Gyms & Fitness brands, ranked by entry cost
1StretchLabFPRFitness Studio / Stretching Services $271,037–$814,192 $60,000 8% 486+
2HOTWORXFPRHot Fitness Studio $288,890–$830,380 $19,950 Not disclosed in FDD 797+
3F45 TrainingFPRFitness Studio Franchise $362,300–$857,700 $60,000 7% 706+
4Club PilatesFPRPilates Fitness Studio $403,289–$1,029,811 $55,000 Not disclosed in FDD 1,179+
5Pure BarreFPRBarre Fitness Studio $445,299–$736,465 $60,000 7% 617+
6Anytime FitnessFPRFitness Center Franchises $539,329–$905,482 $42,500 Not disclosed in FDD 2,271+
7Snap FitnessFPR24-Hour Fitness Clubs $554,731–$827,621 $39,500 Not disclosed in FDD 460+
8OrangetheoryFPRHigh-Intensity Interval Training Studio $764,577–$1,104,920 $59,950 8% 1,209+
9Planet FitnessFPRBudget Fitness Club $1,282,500–$5,386,000 $40,000 7% 2,432+
10Crunch FitnessFPRFitness Club Franchises $2,147,500–$5,367,000 $35,000 5% 481+

Bar shows each brand's Item 7 range across the $271,037–$5,386,000 span of this category; the lighter block behind it is the middle half of the category (25th–75th percentile). Ranked by lowest entry cost.

Head-to-head inside this category
Related US industry hubs
Home & Senior Care
Straight answers
How much does a gym franchise cost?

Across the 10 gyms & fitness brands FRANticc tracks in the US with a disclosed investment range, entry cost runs from $271,037 (StretchLab) to $2,147,500 (Crunch Fitness), per each brand's FDD Item 7.

Which is the cheapest gym franchise?

StretchLab has the lowest disclosed minimum investment on this page at $271,037 (FDD Item 7). That is a starting figure, not the total cost of getting to opening day — franchise fee, working capital and any real estate are on top where applicable.

How much do gyms & fitness franchise owners make?

Financial Performance Representations (FDD Item 19) are optional under FTC franchise rules, so not every brand publishes one. 10 of 10 brands on this page disclose earnings data in their current FDD; check the individual brand page for what each one discloses. FRANticc does not estimate or promise returns — only figures a brand has itself put in writing.

Can I get SBA financing for a gym franchise?

Many brands in this category are listed on the SBA Franchise Directory, which is what SBA 7(a) lenders check first — but directory listing and loan approval are two different things, and approval also depends on the individual applicant's credit and collateral. Confirm current SBA status directly with the brand and with an SBA-approved lender; FRANticc does not verify per-brand SBA eligibility.

Every figure above is from the brand's current Franchise Disclosure Document (Items 5, 6, 7, 20) on file with FRANticc, US-scoped (country_code=US) — no India data mixed in.
If any figure is incorrect, write to [email protected]