Chick-fil-A charges the Operator a $10,000 initial franchise fee; it is not a restaurant purchase price. The Operator operates a restaurant owned or leased by Chick-fil-A, rents equipment from Chick-fil-A, and each month pays Chick-fil-A rent along with a share of sales and profit. FDD Item 5
This guide relies on Chick-fil-A’s Operator Program Franchise Disclosure Document, issued March 31, 2025, which contains 2024 sales data. Because disclosure documents change annually, review the current edition before using any figure stated here.
What the $10,000 is
On its franchise page, Chick-fil-A names $10,000 of non-gifted, non-borrowed funds for the initial franchise fee as a minimum candidate requirement. chick-fil-a.com/franchise Item 5 of the FDD says the full fee is due upon signing the Franchise Agreement, with Chick-fil-A retaining $5,000 as a working capital deposit while the individual remains an Operator. FDD Item 5
When the agreement ends, that deposit is refunded following a final reconciliation, less costs and losses Chick-fil-A incurred that the Operator failed to pay. The remaining $5,000 cannot be refunded. If an Operator is later offered another restaurant, the fee is $5,000 for each additional restaurant. FDD Item 5
According to the FDD, the $10,000 fee is the only initial out-of-pocket investment required for an Operator to start operating. Estimated expenses including opening inventory, first-month rent, equipment rental and insurance become due only after opening; the FDD says they lower restaurant profit and influence the Operator’s income. FDD Item 7, note 2
What an Operator does not buy
For a standard restaurant location, the FDD identifies three structures: Chick-fil-A owns the site; Chick-fil-A holds it through a prime lease; or Chick-fil-A leases the land through a ground lease while owning the building. FDD Item 1 Under each arrangement, the Operator enters a lease or sublease with Chick-fil-A and pays rent to Chick-fil-A. FDD Item 8
Chick-fil-A supplies most or all kitchen equipment as well as dining-room furniture and fixtures. The Operator pays monthly equipment rent, currently $5,000 for a free-standing or in-line restaurant, $4,000 for a drive-through-only restaurant, and $3,000 for a mall restaurant. FDD Item 6
Rent is another significant monthly cost. For a traditional restaurant, the FDD lists monthly rent from $2,725 to $96,285, including percentage rent when applicable, based on location, premises size and restaurant format. FDD Item 6
How Chick-fil-A is paid instead
The low entry fee comes with a continuing formula. Monthly, Chick-fil-A receives a Base Operating Service Fee equal to 15% of gross receipts minus that month’s equipment rental and business services fee, plus an Additional Operating Service Fee equal to 50% of restaurant net profit. FDD Item 6, note 2
The Operator receives what remains: $1,000 monthly base profit for the first restaurant and the other 50% of net profit, with an advance of up to $1,500 per month available against that portion. The Operator’s personal pay is excluded as a restaurant expense in calculating profit, so it is paid from this division. FDD Item 6, note 2
| Payment | Amount in the FDD |
|---|---|
| Base Operating Service Fee | 15% of gross receipts, less equipment rental and services fee |
| Additional Operating Service Fee | 50% of net profit |
| Rent, traditional restaurant | $2,725 to $96,285 a month |
| Equipment rental | $750 to $5,000 a month, by restaurant type |
| Business services fee | $300 a month |
| Hardware, software support, internet | $9,500 to $20,000 a year |
| Advertising fund contribution | 0% by policy since 1989; FDD allows 0% to 3.25% |
| Insurance premiums | $260 to $10,240 a month |
What comes with the $10,000
- The Operator is expected to run the restaurant full time. The FDD requires full time and personal best efforts and explains that this means directly supervising the restaurant in practice. FDD Item 15
- An individual, rather than a company, signs the initial Franchise Agreement. Chick-fil-A can later permit assignment to one business entity, but that entity must be wholly owned and controlled by the Operator. FDD Item 15
- The agreement continues through December 31 of the year of signing and then automatically renews in one-year terms, unless either party provides at least 30 days’ written notice. FDD Item 17
- Chick-fil-A can terminate the agreement without cause by providing 30 days’ written notice. At termination, the Operator has to leave the premises and return the equipment. FDD Item 17
- The Operator has no right to sell the restaurant. The FDD permits transfer only to that single entity, and every transfer requires Chick-fil-A approval. FDD Item 17
- No territory is protected. The FDD provides the Operator with no exclusive area and permits Chick-fil-A to open other restaurants near an existing restaurant. FDD Item 12
- Chick-fil-A can offer additional restaurants to an Operator for $5,000 apiece, though the FDD states that Chick-fil-A is not required to make any such offer. FDD Item 12
Who gets to pay the $10,000
Satisfying the minimum requirements does not result in an offer. Chick-fil-A’s franchise page lists: the legal right to operate a franchise in the United States; $10,000 in non-gifted, non-borrowed funds; no bankruptcy in the person’s financial history; full-time day-to-day operating commitment; divestment of every non-passive business interest; five or more years of professional experience; team-leadership experience; and written and spoken English fluency. It calls selection highly competitive and gives no guarantee of selection. chick-fil-a.com/franchise
Its franchise legal notice states that an offer to sell a franchise occurs only after a candidate completes an Operator application and qualifies to receive the FDD. chick-fil-a.com franchise legal notice
What Chick-fil-A reports about sales
Item 19 is the section in which a franchisor may provide restaurant performance information. Chick-fil-A gives annual sales, rather than profit, for Operator-run restaurants open throughout all of 2024. FDD Item 19
| Restaurant type | Restaurants | Median | Average | Lowest | Highest |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Free-standing or drive-thru only | 2,179 | $9,226,669 | $9,317,007 | $1,878,888 | $19,318,796 |
| Mall | 197 | $3,386,837 | $4,516,855 | $1,219,834 | $18,918,134 |
The numbers are sales figures. The FDD says they exclude sales costs and operating expenses, and that an Operator’s results can vary. The table excludes captive-venue units, restaurants operated by Chick-fil-A or its affiliates, and four delivery kitchens separately reported by the FDD. FDD Item 19
FRANticc does not publish a profit or return figure for a Chick-fil-A Operator because the disclosure ends with sales. Although the profit split above applies to restaurant profit, the FDD does not disclose that profit.
How the $10,000 compares with other US chicken chains
Four other US chicken chains, taken from their FRANticc profiles (each sourced to the brand's own FDD): initial franchise fees run from $25,000 to $50,000, and the Item 7 estimate of the total cost to open runs from $310,400 at the low end to $3,923,245 at the high end.
| Chain | Initial fee | Item 7 estimated investment | Royalty |
|---|---|---|---|
| Wingstop | $25,000 | $310,400 to $1,048,500 | 6% of sales |
| Popeyes | $50,000 | $1,222,045 to $3,923,245 | 5% of sales |
| Zaxby's | $35,000 | $1,460,000 to $3,810,500 | 6% of sales |
| El Pollo Loco | $40,000 | $793,750 to $2,685,500 | 5% of sales |
| Chick-fil-A | $10,000 | $426,735 to $2,339,525 | Monthly formula, see above |
Chick-fil-A’s Item 7 total does not represent a restaurant purchase price. The FDD says the $10,000 fee is the sole initial out-of-pocket investment, while most of the total, $391,000 to $2,134,000, estimates restaurant expenses during the first three months of operation. FDD Item 7 The other chains’ figures estimate each brand’s restaurant-opening cost, so these figures are not measuring the same thing.
The short version
The entry fee is low because the Operator does not purchase the premises or equipment. Instead, the Operator uses Chick-fil-A’s property under a lease and pays monthly for it, as well as shares of sales and profit. A lower entry price does not mean a cheaper arrangement: the Operator cannot sell an owned business, and income depends on restaurant profit after those payments, which the FDD does not disclose.
Common questions
Why does it cost only $10,000 to open a Chick-fil-A?
The $10,000 is only the initial franchise fee. The Operator does not purchase the land, building or equipment; Chick-fil-A owns or leases the location and supplies the equipment, while the Operator pays monthly rent, equipment rental, and shares of sales and profit. FDD Item 5
Is $10,000 the total cost of opening a Chick-fil-A?
It is the FDD’s only required initial out-of-pocket investment. Item 7 shows totals of $426,735 to $2,339,525, but most represents estimated restaurant expenses for the first three months, while inventory, rent and similar items are not payable until after the restaurant opens. FDD Item 7
Does a Chick-fil-A Operator own the restaurant?
The Operator does not own the premises or equipment. Chick-fil-A owns the site or leases it, the Operator has a lease or sublease and rents the equipment, and transfer is limited to a business entity wholly owned by the Operator. Chick-fil-A can also terminate without cause with 30 days’ written notice. FDD Item 17
How does Chick-fil-A get paid by its Operators?
Monthly, Chick-fil-A receives 15% of gross receipts less equipment rental and the business services fee, along with 50% of restaurant net profit. The Operator separately pays rent and equipment rental. FDD Item 6, note 2
Who can become a Chick-fil-A Operator?
Candidates need to meet minimum requirements, including no bankruptcy, five or more years of professional experience and a full-time commitment. But qualifying does not assure selection, which Chick-fil-A characterizes as highly competitive. chick-fil-a.com/franchise
Sources
- Chick-fil-A, Inc. Operator Program Franchise Disclosure Document, issued March 31, 2025 (public state franchise filing; copy hosted by WeFranch)
- Chick-fil-A franchise requirements, chick-fil-a.com
- Chick-fil-A franchise legal notice, chick-fil-a.com
- Comparison figures: FRANticc brand profiles for each chain linked in the table, which cite each brand's own FDD.