US Industry Hub

Tutoring & Child Care Franchises

Education and child care franchises run from after-school tutoring centers staffed by only a handful of people to licensed, full-day child care centers requiring a purpose-built facility and a state license before opening. Every number here is taken directly from the brand’s Franchise Disclosure Document: Item 5 lists the franchise fee, Item 7 gives the investment range, and Item 20 shows how many locations are currently open. State licensing requirements sit outside a franchisor’s disclosures.

What a tutoring franchise actually costs
i9 Sports$59,900 Kumon$101,630 Sylvan Learning$117,600 Mathnasium$127,316 Code Ninjas$174,250 School of Rock$378,050 Kiddie Academy$590,000 The Learning Experience$805,799 The Goddard School$1,003,500 Goldfish Swim School$1,663,263 Primrose Schools$2,152,500
$59,900entry floor$378,050median$7,265,300top of range
11 of 11 brands publish an Item 7 range $122,458–$904,650 is the middle half 11 of 11 file Item 19 earnings

Each dot is one brand's minimum total investment (FDD Item 7). An entry-cost distribution only — not a promise of return.

11 Tutoring & Child Care brands, ranked by entry cost
1i9 SportsFPRYouth Sports Programs $59,900–$69,900 $24,900 7.5% 294+
2KumonFPRAfter-School Math & Reading Centers $101,630–$233,780 $2,000 Not disclosed in FDD 1,705+
3Sylvan LearningFPRTutoring & Academic Centers $117,600–$288,400 $46,900 11% 433+
4MathnasiumFPRMath Tutoring Centers $127,316–$165,846 $49,000 10% 1,043+
5Code NinjasFPRSTEM Coding Academy $174,250–$265,750 $45,000 Not disclosed in FDD 238+
6School of RockFPRMusic Education Academy $378,050–$756,100 $59,900 8% 276+
7Kiddie AcademyFPREducational Child Care Centers $590,000–$1,010,000 $150,000 7% 363+
8The Learning ExperienceFPREarly Childhood Education $805,799–$1,563,499 $60,000 7% 436+
9The Goddard SchoolFPREarly Childhood Education $1,003,500–$1,503,000 $135,000 7% 665+
10Goldfish Swim SchoolFPRChildren's Swim School $1,663,263–$3,746,733 $50,000 6% 192+
11Primrose SchoolsFPRPreschool / Child Care $2,152,500–$7,265,300 $50,000 7% 557+

Bar shows each brand's Item 7 range across the $59,900–$7,265,300 span of this category; the lighter block behind it is the middle half of the category (25th–75th percentile). Ranked by lowest entry cost.

Head-to-head inside this category
Related US industry hubs
Cleaning & RestorationAutomotive & Car Wash
Straight answers
How much does a tutoring franchise cost?

Across the 11 tutoring & child care brands FRANticc tracks in the US with a disclosed investment range, entry cost runs from $59,900 (i9 Sports) to $2,152,500 (Primrose Schools), per each brand's FDD Item 7.

Which is the cheapest tutoring franchise?

i9 Sports has the lowest disclosed minimum investment on this page at $59,900 (FDD Item 7). That is a starting figure, not the total cost of getting to opening day — franchise fee, working capital and any real estate are on top where applicable.

How much do tutoring & child care franchise owners make?

Financial Performance Representations (FDD Item 19) are optional under FTC franchise rules, so not every brand publishes one. 11 of 11 brands on this page disclose earnings data in their current FDD; check the individual brand page for what each one discloses. FRANticc does not estimate or promise returns — only figures a brand has itself put in writing.

Can I get SBA financing for a tutoring franchise?

Many brands in this category are listed on the SBA Franchise Directory, which is what SBA 7(a) lenders check first — but directory listing and loan approval are two different things, and approval also depends on the individual applicant's credit and collateral. Confirm current SBA status directly with the brand and with an SBA-approved lender; FRANticc does not verify per-brand SBA eligibility.

Every figure above is from the brand's current Franchise Disclosure Document (Items 5, 6, 7, 20) on file with FRANticc, US-scoped (country_code=US) — no India data mixed in.
If any figure is incorrect, write to [email protected]