US Industry Hub

Automotive & Car Wash Franchises

Automotive franchises span quick oil-change outlets, tire stores, full-service mechanical repair shops and express car washes. Required bays, equipment and real estate differ by format, so the investment can shift substantially. Every number on this page is taken directly from the brand's Franchise Disclosure Document: Item 5 lists the franchise fee, Item 7 gives the investment range, and Item 20 shows how many locations are currently open. Check the format before you compare costs.

What a car repair franchise actually costs
Valvoline Instant Oil Change$192,375 Jiffy Lube$211,000 Meineke$224,898 AAMCO$236,800 CARSTAR$298,200 Midas$385,450 Christian Brothers Automotive$515,250 Big O Tires$543,500 Take 5 Oil Change$912,248 Tommy's Express Car Wash$3,482,389
$192,375entry floor$341,825median$4,163,279top of range
10 of 10 brands publish an Item 7 range $227,874–$536,438 is the middle half 10 of 10 file Item 19 earnings

Each dot is one brand's minimum total investment (FDD Item 7). An entry-cost distribution only — not a promise of return.

10 Automotive & Car Wash brands, ranked by entry cost
1Valvoline Instant Oil ChangeFPRQuick-Lube Services $192,375–$3,483,550 $30,000 6% 1,071+
2Jiffy LubeFPROil Change & Light Repair $211,000–$510,000 $35,000 4% 1,765+
3MeinekeFPRAutomotive Repair Services $224,898–$1,200,818 $45,000 Not disclosed in FDD 716+
4AAMCOFPRTransmission and Auto Repair $236,800–$361,200 $39,500 7.5% 540+
5CARSTARFPRCollision Repair $298,200–$804,300 $10,000 5.5% 471+
6MidasFPRAutomotive Repair & Service $385,450–$940,050 $35,000 10% 889+
7Christian Brothers AutomotiveFPRAutomotive Repair $515,250–$650,400 $85,000 Not disclosed in FDD 326+
8Big O TiresFPRTire Retail & Service $543,500–$2,738,000 $17,500 Not disclosed in FDD 470+
9Take 5 Oil ChangeFPRQuick Lube Services $912,248–$2,053,642 $45,000 7% 432+
10Tommy's Express Car WashFPRAutomated Tunnel Car Wash $3,482,389–$4,163,279 $50,000 4% 244+

Bar shows each brand's Item 7 range across the $192,375–$4,163,279 span of this category; the lighter block behind it is the middle half of the category (25th–75th percentile). Ranked by lowest entry cost.

Head-to-head inside this category
Related US industry hubs
Tutoring & Child CareIce Cream & Smoothies
Straight answers
How much does a car repair franchise cost?

Across the 10 automotive & car wash brands FRANticc tracks in the US with a disclosed investment range, entry cost runs from $192,375 (Valvoline Instant Oil Change) to $3,482,389 (Tommy's Express Car Wash), per each brand's FDD Item 7.

Which is the cheapest car repair franchise?

Valvoline Instant Oil Change has the lowest disclosed minimum investment on this page at $192,375 (FDD Item 7). That is a starting figure, not the total cost of getting to opening day — franchise fee, working capital and any real estate are on top where applicable.

How much do automotive & car wash franchise owners make?

Financial Performance Representations (FDD Item 19) are optional under FTC franchise rules, so not every brand publishes one. 10 of 10 brands on this page disclose earnings data in their current FDD; check the individual brand page for what each one discloses. FRANticc does not estimate or promise returns — only figures a brand has itself put in writing.

Can I get SBA financing for a car repair franchise?

Many brands in this category are listed on the SBA Franchise Directory, which is what SBA 7(a) lenders check first — but directory listing and loan approval are two different things, and approval also depends on the individual applicant's credit and collateral. Confirm current SBA status directly with the brand and with an SBA-approved lender; FRANticc does not verify per-brand SBA eligibility.

Every figure above is from the brand's current Franchise Disclosure Document (Items 5, 6, 7, 20) on file with FRANticc, US-scoped (country_code=US) — no India data mixed in.
If any figure is incorrect, write to [email protected]