US Industry Hub

Ice Cream & Smoothie Franchises

Ice cream, dessert and smoothie franchises span compact carts and kiosks through to seated storefronts, and that format decision usually drives most of the investment range. Every number shown here is taken directly from the brand's Franchise Disclosure Document: Item 5 lists the franchise fee, Item 7 details the investment range, and Item 20 shows how many locations are currently open. A cart and a full storefront do not carry the same franchise fee.

What a dessert franchise actually costs
Kona Ice$114,730 Edible Arrangements$213,500 Tropical Smoothie$275,500 Ben & Jerry's$280,300 Playa Bowls$281,960 Baskin-Robbins$307,400 Smoothie King$329,850 Rita's Italian Ice$371,400 Cold Stone Creamery$390,675 Jamba$480,850
$114,730entry floor$294,680median$1,055,594top of range
10 of 10 brands publish an Item 7 range $276,700–$361,013 is the middle half 10 of 10 file Item 19 earnings

Each dot is one brand's minimum total investment (FDD Item 7). An entry-cost distribution only — not a promise of return.

10 Ice Cream & Smoothies brands, ranked by entry cost
1Kona IceFPRShaved Ice / Mobile QSR $114,730–$228,601 $15,000 Not disclosed in FDD 1,929+
2Edible ArrangementsFPRFruit Arrangement Retail $213,500–$587,000 $30,000 5% 588+
3Tropical SmoothieFPRSmoothie / QSR Café $275,500–$770,500 $35,000 6% 1,650+
4Ben & Jerry'sFPRIce Cream Scoop Shop $280,300–$631,300 Not disclosed in FDD 3% 171+
5Playa BowlsFPRAcai Bowl Café $281,960–$1,055,594 $35,000 6% 342+
6Baskin-RobbinsFPRIce Cream / QSR $307,400–$626,700 $25,000 5.9% 967+
7Smoothie KingFPRSmoothie & Juice Bar $329,850–$683,715 $30,000 6% 1,200+
8Rita's Italian IceFPRFast-Casual Mexican $371,400–$856,100 $30,000 5% 52+
9Cold Stone CreameryFPRIce Cream / Frozen Dessert QSR $390,675–$680,775 $12,000 Not disclosed in FDD 103+
10JambaFPRJuice Bar / QSR $480,850–$941,300 $35,500 6% 709+

Bar shows each brand's Item 7 range across the $114,730–$1,055,594 span of this category; the lighter block behind it is the middle half of the category (25th–75th percentile). Ranked by lowest entry cost.

Related US industry hubs
ChickenBurgers & Drive-Thru
Straight answers
How much does a dessert franchise cost?

Across the 10 ice cream & smoothies brands FRANticc tracks in the US with a disclosed investment range, entry cost runs from $114,730 (Kona Ice) to $480,850 (Jamba), per each brand's FDD Item 7.

Which is the cheapest dessert franchise?

Kona Ice has the lowest disclosed minimum investment on this page at $114,730 (FDD Item 7). That is a starting figure, not the total cost of getting to opening day — franchise fee, working capital and any real estate are on top where applicable.

How much do ice cream & smoothies franchise owners make?

Financial Performance Representations (FDD Item 19) are optional under FTC franchise rules, so not every brand publishes one. 10 of 10 brands on this page disclose earnings data in their current FDD; check the individual brand page for what each one discloses. FRANticc does not estimate or promise returns — only figures a brand has itself put in writing.

Can I get SBA financing for a dessert franchise?

Many brands in this category are listed on the SBA Franchise Directory, which is what SBA 7(a) lenders check first — but directory listing and loan approval are two different things, and approval also depends on the individual applicant's credit and collateral. Confirm current SBA status directly with the brand and with an SBA-approved lender; FRANticc does not verify per-brand SBA eligibility.

Every figure above is from the brand's current Franchise Disclosure Document (Items 5, 6, 7, 20) on file with FRANticc, US-scoped (country_code=US) — no India data mixed in.
If any figure is incorrect, write to [email protected]